Understanding the Five Stages of Grief

Posted on April 24, 2023 by Solano Care

As described by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, the five stages of grief are a model for understanding the emotional and psychological process of coping with loss. These stages are not necessarily linear, and individuals may not experience all stages or may experience them in a different order or intensity. As a hospice agency in Vallejo, California, we offer grief counseling to help loved ones deal with end-of-life struggles.

  • Denial

    The initial stage of grief involves denial and disbelief that the loss has occurred. This stage may involve feelings of shock, numbness, and a sense of detachment from reality.

  • Anger

    As the reality of the loss sets in, individuals may experience anger and frustration. This may include feelings of resentment, blame, and a sense of injustice.

  • Bargaining

    In this stage, individuals may attempt to bargain with a higher power or with the universe in an attempt to reverse the loss. This may involve thoughts such as “If only I had done something differently, the loss could have been prevented.”

  • Depression

    The fourth stage of grief involves a sense of sadness and mourning. This may include feelings of hopelessness, despair, and a loss of interest in previously enjoyed activities.

  • Acceptance

    The final stage of grief involves accepting the reality of the loss and moving forward with a sense of resolution. This may involve finding meaning and purpose in the loss and incorporating the loss into one’s life story.

Grief is a highly individualized process, and everyone copes with loss in their own way. Solano Care offers compassionate grief counseling services to help you journey through the passing of a loved one in a healthy way.

Our skilled nursing facility will be with you all the way.

Call our hospice care provider at 707-742-0774.

This entry was posted in Stages Of Grief Tagged Emotional Well-Being, Mental Health, Senior Care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *